Digital Discussions

Tracking Journal Register Company's Digital Transition

2010 Journal Register Company Editorial Awards

with 2 comments

The 2010 Journal Register Company Editorial Awards are open to all current Journal Register Company employees. The submission process is open call — categories are open to all areas of the newsrooms from news to sports to business to features to photo.

Along with recognizing quality journalism within the Company, the awards are designed to:

  • Foster a sense of community within our organization
  • Develop talent and retain talent within our Company
  • Recognize those who excel and share their knowledge
  • Encourage innovation and challenge the status quo
  • Celebrate those who adapt and lead

Deadline for submission is Monday, Feb. 21, 2011 and is open to current Journal Register Company employees whose work appeared in a Journal Register Company publications from Feb. 1, 2010 to Jan. 31, 2011.

The Benjamin Franklin Award:

This award will be presented to the newsroom that:

  • Embodies Journal Register Company’s Digital First philosophy
  • Embraces community participation
  • Promotes collaboration with all, finds innovative solutions to grow audience
  • Maintains the highest journalistic standards. Limited to one entry per organization.

(Click here to enter)

Innovator of the Year Award:

These individuals will be chosen from across Journal Register Company’s newsrooms and recognized for their work in the Digital First process and for their focus on audience. Nominees should include individuals who developed new models for content distribution; created new opportunities for user-generated content; and developed collaborative opportunities with staff, readers and peers.

(Click here to enter)

Rising Star Award:

This award will recognize employees who have been with Journal Register Company for less than three (3) years — as of Dec. 31, 2010 — who have shown leadership beyond their current position. Nominations should include a narrative in support of the nominee and should highlight measurable work (growth in audience, establishment of a training program, etc.) developed by the individual.

(Click here to enter)

User-Generated Content Award:

This award will recognize the best use of user-generated content — highlighting community awareness, expansion of digital offerings, use of multiple platforms and the growth of the local brand. Additional consideration will be given to projects that can be replicated across the company.

(Click here to enter)

Audience Interaction Award:

While submissions can highlight user-generated content, the focus of this award is to honor the interaction between the newsroom and the audience with a specific emphasis on collaboration, engagement and partnership.

(Click here to enter)

Multi-channel Reporting Award:

Submissions in this category must include digital-exclusive offerings (video, audio, maps, databases, etc.) and will be judged on the depth of the reporting while recognizing the strength of each reporting channel (text, video, photo, etc.).

(Click here to enter)

Public Service Award:

This award will be judged on the cumulative reporting on an issue and/or issues impacting the communities we serve.

(Click here to enter)

Breaking News Award:

Immediate deadline reporting of a single event with an emphasis on multi-channel reporting.

(Click here to enter)

Feature Story Award:

Awarded to the best feature story — defined as reporting outside of traditional breaking news and beat reporting. This award is open to all topics/sections.

(Click here to enter)

Editorial Award:

Single or multiple entries exemplifying the power of our community-focused editorial page by addressing a particular issue.

(Click here to enter)

Photography Award:

Single photo from any area including news, sports, feature, etc..

(Click here to enter)

Video Award:

Single video from any area including news, sports, feature, etc..

(Click here to enter)

Columnist Award:

Open to all staff columnists. Submissions must include three (3) samples that best exemplify the work of the nominee.

(Click here to enter)


Written by Jon Cooper

May 18, 2010 at 10:12 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Jon:
    I was wondering if there is a limit per person per category? Thanks, Tracey Read

    Tracey Read

    February 8, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    • Tracey — If you have multiple (3 to 5) you’d like to enter per option, please do so.

      You can enter more than one award as well.


      Jon Cooper

      February 17, 2011 at 6:20 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: